Always start with positive, right?
1. Grocery Store Progress
You already know I loathe the grocery down the street. It's the type of "discount" chain that saves money by displaying merchandise in boxes, having a small selection, no customer service, and generally only one cashier open. I've also been warned by CR veterans to always check expiration dates there. The only reason I go is that it's walking distance from my house and I'm pretty sure the "Super" (which is what Ticos call convenience stores without gas pumps) next door charges me more because I'm a gringa (even though I speak to them in Spanish every time and let them know that I actually live here).
Today, after I got off the "teacher bus" that takes us home (still so weird not having a car but nice that my school provides transportation), I ran into my maid. By the way, yes, CR is crazy expensive. But this is the first time that I've ever been able to afford a maid. It makes me feel somewhat special. Even though I live in a so-so apartment; I'm a teacher and I have a maid who does an awesome job. And the cost? $4/ hour. She cleans for 3 hours a week (dishes, laundry, changes sheets, etc) so it only costs me $12/ week.
Anyhow, ran into my maid and told her I was on my way to the store and asked her if I needed to pick up any additional cleaning supplies. She told me she was on the way to the store too, so we walked together. We walked through the cleaning aisles and she told me exactly what she needed. How above and beyond is that? Ticos can be be nice, which will seem contradictory when I move on to Topic 2...
Got the stuff. Got into the ONE checkout lane. Shocker, right? At this point, the line is about ten deep. Some people have carts full, some have baskets full, and some people have ONE item. But an express lane? No, CR is not ready for such fanciness. So, of course, we all start chatting/ complaining in line about how "it's always like this." There was actually a cute Tico behind me and we were actually making small talk in both English and Spanish. I thought to myself, "Wow, maybe people do meet people in grocery stores." But I checked out and I told him to have a good night and... that was it. Surprisingly, I didn't check for a wedding ring. But, from what I've heard, Ticos either 1) don't wear one, or 2) are apt to have girlfriends on the side. Bottom line: We had some good laughs in (yet another) extremely annoying grocery line. Good people. At the store only, maybe?
2. Dating Regression
I have officially deactivated my okcupid account. I had to. It was just too much. You hear so many stereotypes about Ticos and, unfortunately, the sample I met proved them to be mostly true. In review, here are "reviews" of my experiences dating Ticos:
1) The guy who wanted to keep me a "secret" because he had an "ex-girlfriend" in another country. (See prior post) I was the first girl he'd ever met through okcupid. After our third date, he closed his account saying it made him feel "weird."
2) The guy who went from super sweet and affectionate on our first date to super nonchalant and non-affectionate on our second date (which is probably not a Tico thing... thinking he just lost interest in my awesomeness for some odd reason). He also then closed his account, saying it's not how he's "used to meeting people."
3) The guy who was obsessed with making a date with me. We became FB friends and he was constantly sending me messages. I felt like it was a bit much, so -yes- I wasn't super-responsive. He got offended, sent me messages about how I was clearly not interested, and then deleted me as a friend. I actually ended up meeting him in real life just to calm him down. He was sweet and very much a gentleman, but I didn't feel any chemistry. Plus, he hadn't finished college and that is a huge pre-requisite for me. We have, however, hung out two more times. Really when I just needed a friend. I think he knows that. I am not one to use people at all, and I hope he can see that in me. He's a good guy, but I just don't think the romantic connection is there. We are FB friends again though.
4) The boring engineer. On a positive note, there are LOADS of engineers on dating sites here. But I was seriously yawning after two beers and went home.
5) Long, greasy hair guy. Who, by the way, in a nod to how freaking small this country is good friends with "the boring engineer." We had already set the date and Monday date (this guy) told Friday date (last guy) that we going to meet me. 4.8 million people live in this country. Yes, the size of a large city in the States, but what are the odds that my back to back dates are besties? Nice enough, but no attraction. Found myself giving him more advice on the ins and outs on online dating rather than really connecting...
6) My first real hope. Attractive and an engineer. But (in retrospect) pretty affectionate for a first date. We had made plans to have our second date on the Saturday following Halloween. I had had a pretty rough night the night before, as I had my cell phone stolen. All my pictures, not only from CR but from the US as well, were gone. (Or so I thought... many have since been recovered from the miraculous google cloud). Anyhow, I thought we were going to spend a nice Saturday together, as he knew I had just experienced a horrible night prior. But apparently he "got busy helping a friend move" all day and proceeded to show up at my house at 10pm with a six pack and plans for us "to watch a movie" so I'd feel better. Details withheld, he ended up having a different idea of "comforting" me than I had naively anticipated. He was ultimately physically aggressive and I was uncomfortable. Nothing happened, but he left after midnight and he is now blocked.
So there you have it... my Tico experience. I realize six dudes ("maes") do not a country represent. But just had to vent. Here's to meeting people organically. We'll see.
xo,
t
No comments:
Post a Comment