Lately, I've become obsessed with "Orange is the New Black" (yes, better late than never), and an exchange on the episode I watched tonight really hit home:
"Have you guys ever noticed that, once you're a couple, you pretty much only hang out with other couples?"
"A guy, a girl, and another guy? It just looks weird."
"People just probably assume you're divorced."
"Oh. Great. So I look divorced. Which conveys sadness and ex-wife shit and lawyer's fees or I look single. 34 and single. Which must just mean there's something wrong with me."
I am 34. Never married, but left a long-term boyfriend to pursue my dream to teach at an international school in a Spanish-speaking country.
Welcome to the thought process I work to avoid daily.
Pura Vida!
XO
No comments:
Post a Comment